As an employer in the State of Missouri, it’s important to understand and comply with the state’s new hire reporting requirements. This involves reporting all newly hired employees to the state within 20 days of their hire date. If you utilize KPM for full-service payroll, we help with this as is part of your payroll services.
Here’s What You Need to Know
The State of Missouri requires new hire reporting be done electronically, either through payroll or by providing a federal or state W-4 form to the state. This reporting requirement helps the state to enforce child support orders and locate individuals who owe child support.
To comply with the state’s new hire reporting requirement, employers must collect certain information from their new employees, such as their full name, address, social security number, and date of hire. This information must be reported to the state within 20 days of the employee’s hire date.
Why Complying with Requirements Matters
Failure to comply with the new hire reporting requirement can result in penalties and fines for employers. Therefore, it’s important to make sure your onboarding process includes electronic new hire reporting and that you submit all required information to the state within the mandated timeframe.
In conclusion, as an employer in Missouri, it’s important you comply with the state’s new hire reporting requirement. Most other states have similar requirements, and a KPM advisor would be happy to help research or assist with those as well. Contact us to learn more about KPM’s payroll and accounting outsourcing solutions and connect with an advisor.